Author Topic: Resize of export for png, jpg.  (Read 4700 times)

Jim_e

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Resize of export for png, jpg.
on: November 13, 2018, 08:56:44 PM
For me i usually work in resolutions that are 4 or more times higher than what I intend to release.  I’d like to be able to resize during export since the content is already being flattened to a single layer.

Lucky Clan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2292
    • Lucky Clan homepage
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #1 on: November 14, 2018, 03:33:32 AM
You can duplicate a Layer to a separate document, and then export it.

Nighternet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #2 on: December 03, 2018, 03:30:48 PM
+1. A good thing to have. Some of the forums don't accept images bigger than certain res.

Jim_e

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #3 on: December 06, 2018, 07:38:11 AM
I forgot about this.

You can duplicate a Layer to a separate document, and then export it.
What i meant was that on the export menu, if i select Jpg or png, id like an option to resize to a new resolution.

Lucky Clan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2292
    • Lucky Clan homepage
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #4 on: December 07, 2018, 03:07:27 AM
Sorry, i don't plan this feature.

hubitron2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #5 on: January 25, 2019, 05:35:17 PM
If I duplicate a layer as a new document, it uses the canvas size of the old doc. Is there a way to export the layer as a new document with the dimensions of the layer itself? Or to simply export a layer (or group of layers) using the layer bounds as the destination resolution?

Lucky Clan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2292
    • Lucky Clan homepage
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #6 on: January 26, 2019, 05:59:30 AM
After you duplicate as a new doc you have to Image>Resize Image it.

Andych56

  • Guest
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #7 on: February 04, 2019, 10:14:00 PM
Sorry, i don't plan this feature.
This would be a great option to have. Affinity Photo for the iPad has this and is very helpful for saving time on export with size and format.
On export Im having to resize first then export and make sure I undo the resize before the autosave. I've made this mistake and my project has been saved permanently downscaled. And if I was to do as you suggested by duplicating the layer and making a new document I can't just export from there and close the file without having to go back to the home page and then delete the newly saved version of it.
If a sizing option was on the quick export and main export it would certainly be hassle-free and make it flexible.

Also is it possible to have the option to save or not save (while autosave is on) a new image without it automatically saving to the home page? Especially if you drag an image into your work window as a new document, not as a layer.

postdes

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #8 on: February 05, 2019, 03:32:08 AM
About the loss of work because of saving a smaller copy: If you use iCoud you can browse versions of your document and return to a previous step. You could try this.

cygaj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #9 on: September 23, 2022, 03:14:27 PM
I know it's been stated that the feature isn't planned and I respect that but just wanted to add to this thread if there ever was a chance of it being planned in the future after all, because it's something I'm really missing. For the reasons already stated in the thread, mostly streamlining workflow

And when we're on the topic, re: duplicating layer to another document. I would love it if there could be an label with pixel dimensions under the file thumbnail because then I would be confident I'm deleting the right file after I'm done with my export

LCArt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: Resize of export for png, jpg.
Reply #10 on: October 06, 2022, 03:13:31 AM
asked for this some time ago and im still surprised it didnt happen, it does save a lot of time and creates less clutter in the files. Hope the dev decides to add it :C