Author Topic: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)  (Read 1304 times)

JoseConseco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
on: September 20, 2020, 08:07:40 AM
New update looks promising, it is great we can dock most of the panels now.
a) I just wish we could save drawing space by merging few options into dropdown lists (I know there is another thread pointing similar issue - busy UI):

I picked options that are not used that often, so moving then into dropdown menu should not slow down the workflow that much.
Yes it requires removing panels titlebars - but they are redundant anyway - when I see color selector - I do not need titlebar saying 'Color'.
I also removed color preview in 'Color' panel titlebar - it is also redundant (we have color info shown in 3-4 places - left slider panel, in top right corner, in color selector wheel/square and lastly in color selector titlebar - wtf).
b) Also it would be great if selecting fav brush, would highlight it in brushes panel list, so I can easily edit it.
c) Please revers finger gesture - for size / opacity directions - it is way more convenient to use up/down direction for size. IMO adjusting alpha is less used, so it can be left/right slide.
d) Lastly it would be great is brush options for enabling/disabling Jitter,Patern, Aux stamp , dynamics etc. was moved from inside of those individual categories, to one level up - next to category name:

I often click on category just to see it is disabled.

Last Edit: September 20, 2020, 08:23:14 AM by JoseConseco

Lucky Clan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1873
    • Lucky Clan homepage
Re: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
Reply #1 on: September 20, 2020, 04:35:45 PM
a), b), d) yes, we will consider doing it in ver 3.1
c) i agree, vertical gesture is more comfortable, we will do it asap!

Carlitusroda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
Reply #2 on: September 21, 2020, 04:00:13 AM
c) Please and an option to revert finger gesture to it's original (horizontal = size, vertical = flow/opacity)

Some may prefer it with the new directions. But some others prefer it as it was previously.

f) Please add an option to reset brush. I can't find any way to do that, the option on "View" menu don't work.

About a) I prefer as it is now in beta. But the proposed method is also good.

Lucky Clan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1873
    • Lucky Clan homepage
Re: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
Reply #3 on: September 21, 2020, 04:11:54 AM
To reset a brush long press brush thumbnail in brush editor and tap "Reset".
You can also long-press brush group and reset the whole group

Carlitusroda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
Reply #4 on: September 21, 2020, 05:46:27 AM
Ok, i see why i never found it before. It seems reset don't work with custom groups and custom brushes.

If i modify an ASP default brush, it works. When any of the brush setting is modified, it shows a filled circle on thumbnail. Then, you can reset the brush or the entire category.

If i modify a custom brush, or "paste" any brush, or duplicate, it shows an outlined circle. It always shows "Save" button when i edit the brush, even i i don't modify it at all. However, if i edit the brush settings, the Save buttons works; it just remains here even if settings are already saved. The Reset option never pop ups, neither in brush or group long-press options.

So, in default brushes works correctly. But it didn't work on custom brushes.

Lucky Clan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1873
    • Lucky Clan homepage
Re: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
Reply #5 on: September 21, 2020, 09:42:39 AM
Yes, reset works only with stock brushes.

JoseConseco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
Reply #6 on: September 21, 2020, 02:04:11 PM
I agree saving custom presets could be improved (basically make it like saving image file):
1) 'Save'  - should store brush state ('save as' - to save as new preset), and it should  on both: custom and build-in brushes
2) after  tweaking of brush settings we are in 'dirty'/temp mode.
   - 'reset' (or 'reload') would reset to last 'saved' state.
   - 'save'  would override last 'saved' state with new settings.
This way we can make some temporary changes, reset it any time, or commit changes as permanent
3) maybe there could be 'restore to factory settings' - for build-in brushes
4) IMO  any temporary changes made to brush (without using 'save'),  should not disappear after switching to different brush. Only 'reload' should clear the temporary changes. Imagine if you used you logic of clearing brush settings when drawing images - lets say we paint in two tabs two images, we switch to second tab, and BAM! artstudio erases your changes made in previous tab without asking!

Also I think I found regression.
In previous version of Artstudio  I could use - left thumb press and hold  + pen click and drag to pick color. Now this option seems to not work.

Carlitusroda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
Reply #7 on: September 21, 2020, 03:00:46 PM
Yes, reset works only with stock brushes.

Ok, no problem with that.

Then, i ask if it's possible to implement in future updates. It will help a lot for brush creators and any user.

Lucky Clan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1873
    • Lucky Clan homepage
Re: Feedback for 3.0 (maybe add it in 3.1?)
Reply #8 on: September 22, 2020, 06:40:45 PM
It is a bit too complicated...

I agree saving custom presets could be improved (basically make it like saving image file):
1) 'Save'  - should store brush state ('save as' - to save as new preset), and it should  on both: custom and build-in brushes
2) after  tweaking of brush settings we are in 'dirty'/temp mode.
   - 'reset' (or 'reload') would reset to last 'saved' state.
   - 'save'  would override last 'saved' state with new settings.
This way we can make some temporary changes, reset it any time, or commit changes as permanent
3) maybe there could be 'restore to factory settings' - for build-in brushes
4) IMO  any temporary changes made to brush (without using 'save'),  should not disappear after switching to different brush. Only 'reload' should clear the temporary changes. Imagine if you used you logic of clearing brush settings when drawing images - lets say we paint in two tabs two images, we switch to second tab, and BAM! artstudio erases your changes made in previous tab without asking!

Also I think I found regression.
In previous version of Artstudio  I could use - left thumb press and hold  + pen click and drag to pick color. Now this option seems to not work.