Author Topic: Animation timeline: multiple layers  (Read 3193 times)

andreaspinelliart

Animation timeline: multiple layers
on: May 31, 2022, 06:06:49 AM
Hi everyone!

First of all, congratulations for all the news regarding the animation feature, it is really useful.

As a professional animation designer I would like to ask you for a feature that I personally consider essential to use Artstudio Pro professionally on iPad.

Currently, like most iPad animation apps, Artstudio Pro structures the animation timeline into layer groups:

FRAME 1
   Layer1
   Layer2
   Layer3

FRAME 2
   Layer1
   Layer2
   Layer3

FRAME 3
   Layer1
   Layer2
   Layer3

This is very inconvenient for those who, working with frame by frame animation, have to color many frames using multiple layers because they are disconnected from each other and each time you have to open / close groups, select the level etc ...

On the other hand a structure like the following would be much faster and comfortable:

LAYER 1 – Frame1, Frame2, Frame3 ...
LAYER 2 – Frame1, Frame2, Frame3 ...
LAYER 3 – Frame1, Frame2, Frame3 ...

A sort of horizontal timeline, similar to software like Krita or Adobe Animate for example.
One of the rare iPad animation apps that uses this type of structure I refer to is called iArtbook and can be found on the App Store.

If you could add this kind of timeline I think many animators would be thrilled :-)

I hope I have explained myself better and thank you for reading me!

Andrea
Last Edit: May 31, 2022, 06:09:01 AM by andreaspinelliart

Lucky Clan

• Administrator
    • Lucky Clan homepage
Re: Animation timeline: multiple layers
Reply #1 on: May 31, 2022, 06:59:42 AM
We will consider more animation features in future versions.

ps. You can mark layer as "always visible" to show it in all frames...

andreaspinelliart

Reply #2 on: May 31, 2022, 09:43:04 AM
Thank you for your reply and advice!

Hope you'll develop horizontal timeline very soon  :)

Andrea

mattnava