Author Topic: Easier to use smudge tool in Procreate  (Read 11162 times)

christox

Easier to use smudge tool in Procreate
on: December 05, 2020, 09:00:05 PM
I've been using Artstudio Pro for 3 months so I'm rather new to it. But I've noticed that smudging in Procreate is more straightforward because we can basically use any brush to smudge, but that's not the case in Artsudio Pro. I have to find brushes that are designed specifically for smudging.

Why is that?

lastaccess

Re: Easier to use smudge tool in Procreate
Reply #1 on: December 06, 2020, 06:38:33 AM
You can use any brush here as well. Just edit brush you want to use and set “preferred tool” to any.

christox

Reply #2 on: December 06, 2020, 07:08:01 PM
Thank you but I tried that. What I mean is that many brushes smudge poorly. They just blur the area I try to smudge, while in Procreate it smears things around more easily.

christox

Reply #3 on: December 06, 2020, 07:26:17 PM

christox

Reply #4 on: December 06, 2020, 07:30:12 PM
Brush that's used is Greg Rutkowski Traditional Brushes - Sampled Brush 2 39. Used as a smudge brush in both Artstudio Pro and Procreate. No edits to the brush was done.
https://gumroad.com/grzegorzrutkowski#NTydE

In Photoshop there is a strength slider for the smudge tool. I can't find that in Artstudio Pro. The slider should be easily accessible, near the brush size and flow on the side.
Last Edit: December 06, 2020, 08:50:57 PM by christox

lastaccess

Reply #5 on: December 07, 2020, 03:10:35 AM
Checked this brush. If you turn off Angle (it is set to stroke direction), this brush smudges more active, but brush behavior is ruined of course. I think there are some bugs somewhere.

Crocorax

Reply #6 on: December 07, 2020, 12:50:41 PM
I have few problems with smudge brushes too. Sometimes some of my brsuhes smudge differently and I can not predict the result I expect. I am not a newbie here. I think there has to be some kind of bug or so.

Lucky Clan

• Administrator