Author Topic: Reference Layer  (Read 246 times)

GlennNorfolk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Reference Layer
on: May 21, 2019, 07:56:23 AM
iPad - v.2.1 259 beta

I can’t yet see the difference between a Layer set as ‘Reference’ and a regular Layer.
What am I missing?

gregg2g

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
Re: Reference Layer
Reply #1 on: May 21, 2019, 12:45:43 PM
Suppose you create an outline of a subject on one layer. Now you make that layer the Reference Layer. Next, you create another layer below the first layer and use the bucket fill tool (set to Reference) to fill in the area of the outline. This is a non-destructive way of filling in the outline layer.
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6, Huion Kanvas Pro 20 Latest version driver. ArtStudioPro latest versioon

GlennNorfolk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Reference Layer
Reply #2 on: May 23, 2019, 12:38:39 AM
Ah, yes. Thanks for that Gregg. I see my mistake: was looking it as Reference Image not Reference Layer! Ageing brain...!