Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - Kardas

Pages: [1]
1
Ipad 12.9 (3rd gen) v.14.7.1(18G82)
Artstudio Pro v. 3.2.7(691)

In Short: After opening and saving/closing artstudio files, the Ipad storage keeps increasing. Doesnt matter whether the app is closed, or the ipad rebooted, the storage isn't being freed up. Probably the app doesnt purge the "temporary save" files mentioned in this thread by LuckyClan https://www.luckyclan.com/forum/index.php?topic=2054.msg5434#msg5434

Quote:
"Save is implemented in Artstudio in a "safe" way - it first saves everything in a temp package, then move the whole packed to destination."

I managed to reproduce the same behaviour after resetting the ipad and resaving art studio files until the storage filled up and the app had to be deleted/ipad reseted/restored again.

In Detail: One day i got a warning that my 64 gb ipad was running out of storage, rebooting ~15 times and offloading all apps didnt work to free up that space (the moment other apps were offloaded or deleted, the freed up space would be filled up mysteriously again (because i had artstudio opened as i was backing up my files just in case), this prevented the ipad from allowing to delete individual files as it needed storage to do that, or to even backup the ipad on itunes since the ipad needs storage for that too). I deleted apps one by one until deleting Artstudio (NOT OFFLOADIND) with all its art files, or erasing all data with Ipad reset did the trick. Ive succesffully managed to backup and restore all my files since then and managed to replicate the same behaviour again by opening, modifying and closing/saving artstudio files again until the storage filled up and nothing but deleting art studio or reseting the ipad to factory settings worked.

2
Erase Locked transparency.

Hello LuckyClan team, liking the updates and fixes so far for ArtStudio!

 One thing that seems to be dated though, is preventing "Locked Transparency" to be erased. Instead eraser acts like a color brush in that instance.

I know Photoshop does this, but i think at this point for artists its redundant holdover from the past that doesn't make much sense ( why is eraser painting? ). Procreate got rid of this redundancy and eraser erases pixels despite Alpha lock being on. Clip Studio Paint lets you erase locked transparency as well. Krita  Infinite Painter lets you erase locked alpha too. It's a genuine quality of life improvement, it follows the expected logic and is a click time saver. I don't think we should follow photoshops example on this feature since its a photo manipulation tool first and for someone who has to use it at work for illustration, it's very apparent how dated and how unresponsive to introducing basic painting sensibilities it is.

In this old thread https://www.luckyclan.com/forum/index.php?topic=540.msg1410#msg1410 there's a mention that it's to prevent accidental erasing, but since then there has been added a separate feature specifically for that already "Lock Pixels", it makes keeping this functionality rather redundant.  The need to erase the layer that has transparency enabled is constant (refining edges etc).

If i may illustrate how cumbersome it feels to work like this: It takes one tap to undo an accidental erase, but it takes 6! taps to disable lock transparency and then 6 again back to enable it just for a slight tweak. Example: [open layers panel], [select layer], [tap layer again to open options], [tap lock transparency toggle], [tap out to close options], [tap out to close layers]. I think updating the logic of the feature would go a long way for the average user going into the future.

Thank you again for your hard work and hope you had a happy new year.

3
Suggestion to move or add a “show brush cursor” in the brush editor ‘general’ panel for individual brushes, instead of a global toggle in the preferences.

The benefits would be a more streamlined workflow for every individual. For instance (subjective for everyone of course) line-art/sketching doesn’t really benefit much from a visual cursor but in fact may get in the way of drawing clarity, on the other hand the painting process, or erasing benefits greatly from having a visible cursor (painting within the lines, precise erasing).

Functionality: To avoid discomfort for present users from removing a global toggle, the global toggle can remain. If it is enabled, then by default it’s enabled in the brush editor panel for all brushes. If it is disabled, then users could toggle them on for individual brushes in the editor panel instead. Would be good as well if the editor brush cursor toggle state remains in memory, so that an accidental global toggle doesn’t wipe individual brush cursor visibility state.

It’s a feature that is also missed on desktop apps like photoshop. I think clip studio has something similar, but just to change the visuals of cursor icon, instead of on/off. Procreate doesn’t have this feature, nor infinite paint. I think it would be a fantastic addition to the power of Artstudio.

4
Suggestions, Ideas, Bugs / BUG: Saving edited Brushes
on: October 10, 2020, 09:34:07 AM
Edit:Bug description on my second post.

Hello. First off, great update.

Saving edited brushes is a bit convoluted and adds brush waste, since there’s no option to overwrite an edited brush, just ‘add current’ is an option. Making small changes becomes a bit of a hassle. I searched the issue and found a dev promise of introducing a “ Edit > Save workflow” option in 3.0, but it’s not present so far. I think just having an option “overwrite/save brush changes”  in the brush editor drop down where all the other brush/import related options are would suffice.

Best wishes.

Pages: [1]